Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

Re: [Fluxx] Reference about Earth Keeper?

  • FromChristopher Hickman <tophu@xxxxxxx>
  • DateWed, 03 Dec 2008 16:26:06 -0500
On Wednesday, December 03, 2008, at 02:57PM, "Bryan Stout" <bryan.stout@xxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
>I remember reading that Andy once ruled that the Earth promo Keeper cannot 
>stand for more than one thing at the same time.  So, for example, although 
>it can stand for Dirt, Air, or Water, you cannot win the Mud Goal with just 
>Earth.  (In EcoFluxx.)
>I can't find where I read that.  Can anyone help me?

I can't find that reference, but if you are trying to use it as a precedent to apply to the Meaning of Life Goal issue where arguments can be made that The Animator can meet that goal all by itself, consider this:

Earth counts as Dirt, Air, *or* Water.  That "or" means it can't count as more than one of those things.  While it does count as ONE of those things, it remains Earth as well.  The Animator is simultaneously The Animator (intrinsically) and The Finger of God (by counting as), and the argument can be made that you have both.  The question is, what question does the game ask to see if you won?

One option: The game asks "Do you have The Finger of God?" (Yes) "Do you have The Animator?" (Yes)
You win.

Another option: The game asks "Do you have among your keepers one that is The Finger of God and another that is The Animator?" (No)
You don't win.

It's a tough call.  In MY games, the minimum number of separate Keeper cards you must use to meet a Goal is equal to the number of Keepers required for that goal, but it remains to be seen what Andy has to say about this.  I expect we'll have a FAQ entry soon.  (Perhaps he'll go ahead and post one for your Earth question, too.)


Current Thread