Looney Labs Chrononauts Mailing list Archive

Re: [Chrononauts] Very Clean Time Machine in UberChrononauts

  • FromRagnardove@xxxxxxx
  • DateThu, 12 Jan 2006 20:49:22 EST
In a message dated 1/12/2006 5:25:15 P.M. Central Standard Time, skturner@xxxxxxxxx writes:
Is there an accepted use of the Very Clean Time Machine in
UberChrononauts about what cards you draw?  My fiancé and I can never
quite agree on how to use it with the draw 2 rule of UberChrononauts.
Does the card allow you to peek at 2 cards in the draw pile or just 1,
and does it allow you to draw 2 cards from the trash or just 1?  We
can never seem to agree.

Thanks for any advice you all may have.
Not a problem.  The way Andy ruled it was that each draw was a separate event.  So... at the beginning of the turn, you can draw one and peek at it... choose to take that one or put it back on top of the draw pile again and take the one in the trash.  Second draw, you get to draw the top card of the deck again... surprise!  If you took from the discard pile, it's the same card you saw at the first draw.  So you can choose to take that card, or put it back on top again and take the top of the trash.  There are therefore 4 possible draw scenarios.
(a) So, you could draw one, take it, draw another - both from the draw deck.  OR...
(b) You could draw one, take it, draw another, peek at it.. choose to replace that and take the one from the trash.   OR....
(c) You could draw 1, replace it, take from the trash, draw the same 1, and this time take it.  OR....
(d) You could draw 1, replace, take from trash, draw same 1, replace it, and take 2nd from trash.
Note that the only time you get to see the 2nd card down on the draw pile is if you choose to take the 1st card in the first place.  You can always see what's in the trash (the past is an open book, after all) but the order of the trash is important... make sure you keep it basically squared up, not as a big jumble pile.
I hope that helped!