Looney Labs Chrononauts Mailing list Archive

Re: [Chrononauts] Question about Really Fast Timemachine and Super Deluxe Timemachine

  • From"Carol Townsend" <carol.townsend@xxxxxxxxx>
  • DateFri, 29 Feb 2008 09:51:57 -0600
I can understand how this might be confusing but it's pretty straight forward.  All you have to do is read the card and follow what it says.  I usually think of Time Machines as being "outside my normal turn time" and therefore what goes on in the Time Machine doesn't affect what I do in my turn and vice versa.  

By the by... if you don't have your Chrono-deck on you at the moment, but want to see the wording on the cards here's a couple of links:

RFTM (about halfway down the page) http://www.wunderland.com/LooneyLabs/PromoCards/orderable.html
SDTM http://www.wunderland.com/WhatsOld/2004/WN.04.01.04.html

Anyway, since the RFTM says "draw to replace after you play an Inverter" I do so.  Since the rules say to draw a card when I patch, I do so.  Those are two separate actions - and both get a draw.  The act of activating the RFTM causes a "draw to replace" action and the act of patching causes a "draw as a reward" action.

Not to throw a spanner in the time machine, but I just realized that the sticky part for the REAL rules lawyers is this:  the wording contains a "may" in it.  "If you have this gadget on the table, you may play [yadda yadda] and draw to replace..."

Does the may cover the whole phrase or is there a "may" for both parts.

I know that the "may" is there so that you are not required to activate your Time Machine each turn - you choose when to do so with that "may" there.  However, it can be read:  "you may play...."  and then "you may draw to replace..."

Do you *have* to draw to replace?  Can you choose to do so?  I can't think of any circumstance where I would not want to do so... well, wait, maybe I can, with the Time Vortex there might be a valid strategic reason not to draw a card but.... (shrug) I leave the rest of the discussion for others.

Anyway, the point is - yes you draw a card for both things.

Now, go grab your time machine and go back to when you were last playing and tell your then-self that it's ok to draw that extra card.


On 2/29/08, Christopher Zelle <chrisz@xxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
When first playing Chrononauts my family came a cross a problem with the wording of the Really Fast Timemachine. If you use the RFT after your normal turn phase to play an Inverter, you draw to replace that card. If you use the RFT to play a patch card though do you draw to replace the card, as via the RTF, and draw 1 extra card as via the patch itself for a total of two cards? My family has been playing that you get 1 card period.
With the Super Deluxe Timemachine (a parallel card to RFT) the language seems to cover this problem by specifically saying to draw to replace before doing the result of your Action or Timewarp.
Using the SDT as a reference I think that the RFT should give you two cards in conjunction with a patch.
You could pull off a parallel combo to the RFT and patch with the SDT and say sell artifact without using the bonus. Since the sacced artifact isn't in your had, in concerns to hand size change both patches and sell artifacts are 1:1 play 1 gain 1. and in conjunction with an appropriate timemahcine you get 1 extra card.
This whole issue actually led to a high pressure argument among my family and its first game of Uberchrononauts. We were all having issues getting to the hand size condition in a reasonably paced fashion. I was stuck only using the SDT combo even though I also had the RFT.
Any clarifactions on use of either gadget would be appreciated.

Chrononauts mailing list

Carol Townsend
H: 630.681.0311
C: 630.215.6027