Looney Labs Chrononauts Mailing list Archive

Re: [Chrononauts] Memo from your future self question

  • From"Carol Townsend" <carol.townsend@xxxxxxxxx>
  • DateMon, 28 Apr 2008 21:21:22 -0500

On 4/28/08, Jesse Chvojka <chvojka@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
Hi, my name is Jesse and I've been playing Chrononauts for about a year

Hi Jesse!  Welcome!  :)

I just stumbled onto this list just now and have had a burning
question, can a "Memo from your future self" be played to void another

Wow... this hasn't been put into the FAQ's yet on the wiki...hmmm...

Anyway, here's the official rules:

In which it says:
"...the Memo From Your Future Self. This card can be played at any time, to negate a card being played by someone else. Note that playing a Memo just cancels and discards the card being played; it doesn't change whose turn it is."

So yup.  A Memo cancels and discards the card that has just been played.  Was that card a Memo?  Then yup... that first Memo didn't happen. 

My wife did that to me which haulted the game for a good five
minutes.  After a fierce debate, it became house rules that Memos can
void other Memos.  

House rules are also, I believe, tournament rules - Amy... you're our current chrono-expert.  Is this how you run the tourneys at Origins?

Currently, our record is three consecutive Memos played
each voiding the previous one.  Pardon if this question has arisen
before.  Thanks in advance.

No worries - like I said, I didn't see it in the Official FAQ on the Wiki... and now that Andy has weighed in, it is official.  
(btw - the wiki is here: http://rabbits.continuation.org/wiki/Chrononauts_FAQ)

And yes... Memoing memos with a 3rd memo (Cake, as you posted next) is also fun... the thing that didn't happen because of the first memo happened again because of the 2nd memo... but then didn't happen again because of the 3rd memo.  

Just remember, in meandering the memo world, there's the official rules 3 Memoranda on Memos:

 - Be Punctual With Memos: Remember that a Memo must be used to stop a card as it's being played. Obviously it takes a little bit of time to absorb another player's action and decide to use the Memo on it, but you also can't let too much time go by and still expect to have the Memo accepted. Here's a good rule of thumb: once another card has been played, or drawn, it's too late.

 - Memos Aren't Retroactive: Since certain cards allow you to play more than one card in a row, it must be noted that a Memo only cancels the most recently played card. If you play a Memo as soon as another player reveals a Fast Forward, then the entire Fast Forward is canceled; however, if you wait until the player has revealed one of the cards being played as a result of the Fast Forward, then it is only the new card that is canceled. In this case, the Fast Forwarding player may still play a second card.

 - Memos Can't Stop Victory Itself: The Memo cannot be used to cancel an ID or Mission card. Once a player declares victory by revealing one of these cards, it's too late to use a Memo to cancel the card they used to achieve that victory. Given this, though, etiquette (and coolness) suggests a good solid pause after making a play that's going to let you win, to make sure no one wants to use a Memo on you, before revealing your ID or Mission (and doing the Chrononauts Victory Dance).

Now to go put this up on the FAQ.

Keep on Chronoing!!

Carol Townsend
H: 630.681.0311
C: 630.215.6027

Current Thread