Looney Labs Rabbits Mailing list Archive

Re: [Rabbits] Question for Ask Andy

  • From"David Joslyn" <david.joslyn@xxxxxxxxx>
  • DateTue, 20 Mar 2007 17:35:40 -0500

Seeing as how FLUXX is designed to screw with the average person's experience of a Normal Card Game(tm), I'd go with the ruling that Despite the +1 in X=X+1, you still cannot hold ANY cards.

The game's just screwy, that way.  Which is why we all loves it!

~David Joslyn

On 3/20/07, madlab.rabbit.krishaven@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx <madlab.rabbit.krishaven@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
I'm not sure if this is the best list to fire this at, but my
subscription to the Fluxx list doesn't work...

Anyway, have a look at the discussion at:


Between the posters who completely fail to understand what's going on
there's an interesting thing about how Inflation (X=X+1) interacts with
Hand Limit 0, the latter having expressed its rule using two sentences,
one of which uses no numerals and the other which does.

> The "Hand Limit 0" card says: "If it isn't your turn, you cannot hold any cards." No numerals (or even spelled-out numbers) involved -- you can't hold ANY cards, inflation or not. Additionally, "If you have 1 or more cards in your hard, discard them immediately." That's the interesting part -- it becomes "If you have 2 or more cards..." However, based on the first sentence, you can't ever hold any cards.

This smells like an Ask Andy.

Yours, Chris J.
Rabbits mailing list

Current Thread