Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

Re: [Icehouse] Martian Chess Question

  • From"Elliott C. Evans" <eeyore@xxxxxxxx>
  • DateWed, 12 Oct 2005 05:44:05 -0400
Aaron Dalton wrote:
The ambiguity comes with the parenthetical "in any direction." Are these pieces *only* able to move along the diagonal, or are they allowed to move *both* straight and diagonally?

The pawns are only allowed to move on the diagonals, but any of the
four directions is legal.

In regular chess, as you probably know, pawns can only move forward.
Andy could have said, "both forward and backward" instead of "in any
direction", but "forward" and "backward" are not as meaningful in
Martian Chess.

Elliott C. "Eeyore" Evans                              eeyore@xxxxxxxx

Current Thread