Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

RE: [Fluxx] Re: Adjusted some cards

  • From"A Ross" <adross@xxxxxxx>
  • DateWed, 23 Nov 2005 23:42:06 -0700
-----Original Message-----
From: fluxx-bounces@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
[mailto:fluxx-bounces@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx] On Behalf Of Dim Bulb
Sent: Monday, November 21, 2005 5:00 PM
To: fluxx@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Subject: [Fluxx] Re: Adjusted some cards

> > Everybody Gets 1 - Set your hand aside. Draw (number of players) x 1
cards. Put 1 of these cards into each player's hand. Pick up your hand.

> It's difficult to write this card in a way that interacts properly with
X=X+1....  (My personal preference would be to reword it such that it's not
affected by X=X+1 at all; I think this would allow for both simpler wording
and better gameplay.  But that's another subject.)

I agree that it would work better that way, but if I changed it so that it's
not affected by X=X+1 then it would be mechanically different.

> > Trash a Keeper - If there are any Keepers in play, discard one of them.
> > Trash a New Rule - If there are any New Rules in play, discard one of

> These need to say "choose and discard", for clarity.

I'm using the assumption that if a player is discarding a card then that
player gets to choose which one (unless it's a "random" card), just as
"choose" is missing from the Hand Limits and Keeper Limits.

> > _Hand_Limit_ Zero - If it isn't your turn, you cannot have any cards in
your hand - discard your hand now. During your turn, you may ignore the Hand
Limit, as long as you discard your hand at the end of your turn.

> I believe that this is supposed to be worded in such a way that it *is*
affected by X=X+1.  On the current card it's ambiguous (has this been
corrected on v3.1?  I don't have it yet), but I'm inclined to resolve the
inconsistency in favor of the card title (which uses "0") and by analogy
with the other Hand Limit cards.  (I've also heard of players who use decks
containing both "Hand Limit 0" and "Hand Limit Zero", with precisely this

I had a very tough time figuring out how Hand Limit 0 and X=X+1 fit
In my deck I had decided to go with the meaning of "having an empty hand"
rather than "having a hand of 0 cards".
Hopefully Andy can clarify this for us.

Current Thread