Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

Re: [Fluxx] Bring Out Your Dead + Lets Do That Again

  • From"Bryan Stout" <bryan.stout@xxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateWed, 12 Nov 2008 14:04:29 -0500
I would disagree. When "order of discard pile" became important (I think it was when EcoFluxx was released, yes??) our group decided that to play an Action card is to play it and put it in the discard pile.

Yes, Eco-Fluxx's Composting card, which allows you to draw from the bottom of the discard pile, made the discard order important. Alison spoke about the potential consequences of discarding first:
"The only time you have to watch out is if the discard pile is very
small, and someone plays "Draw 2 & Use Em" or "Draw 3 & Play 2" make sure
they do as the text says for actions now - Do what the card says and THEN
put it on the discard pile.  If you put it on the discard pile and then do
your draw, you can draw it back again in an endless loop.

"So go by the letter of the Action card: do what the card says and THEN put
it on the discard pile."Here's the link: http://lists.looneylabs.com/pipermail/fluxx/2005-November/000092.html.

I had to think hard about this when I came up with my New Rule card Muckraking, which lets you draw from the *top* of the discard pile. I had come to the same conclusion as Alison: if you discard the Action card last, game-breaking situations like endless loops are avoided. You can see my fuller discussion of this in my earlier email here: http://lists.looneylabs.com/pipermail/fluxx/2008-September/001626.html.

I agree with Carol and Christopher, and prefer a loose, fun feeling in Fluxx. It's only when cards like Composting or Muckraking are in the game that you need to worry about discard order. And even then, it's not very confusing to keep the Actions in a stack on the table.