Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

Re: [Fluxx] Flower and Traitor questions

  • FromBryan Stout <stoutwb@xxxxxxxxx>
  • DateMon, 3 Aug 2009 09:52:16 -0400
Here are some additional thoughts:

>>   - Suppose I have the Traitor and another Creeper - Death, for instance.
>>  Someone else fulfills the current Goal condition.  Do I win, or does the
>> Creeper stop me?
> This seems pretty straight-forward: Yes, Death stops you, so no, you don't win.

The follow-up question occurred to me: Does the first player then win
after all?  I think not: The Traitor steals the win from player A and
gives it to player B, but Death steals it from player B.  No one wins
under the current conditions.

Mentioning this thread to my daughter, she thought to ask:

- How would the Silver Lining rule -- "Creepers do not prevent you
from winning" -- interact with the Traitor Creeper?

At first I thought that SL would allow a joint win: it keeps TT from
preventing player A's win, but SL would not prevent player B's also
winning.  But I quickly thought otherwise, looking at the intents: TT
says "instead of" the other player, so if A is not prevented then B
does not win in addition to A.  So, my guess would be Silver Lining
nullifies the winning effects of The Traitor.  It would still go to
the current player whenever a New Rule is played, of course.

Current Thread