Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

Re: [Fluxx] Flower and Traitor questions

  • FromJoseph Pate <jpate@xxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateMon, 3 Aug 2009 09:41:49 -0700 (PDT)
FWIW (since I haven't been very active on the threads these days and STILL
haven't played Fluxx 4.0 yet), I agree with this analysis (both points)

>Here are some additional thoughts:
>>>   - Suppose I have the Traitor and another Creeper - Death, for instance.
>>>  Someone else fulfills the current Goal condition.  Do I win, or does the
>>> Creeper stop me?
>> This seems pretty straight-forward: Yes, Death stops you, so no, you don't 
>The follow-up question occurred to me: Does the first player then win
>after all?  I think not: The Traitor steals the win from player A and
>gives it to player B, but Death steals it from player B.  No one wins
>under the current conditions.
>Mentioning this thread to my daughter, she thought to ask:
>- How would the Silver Lining rule -- "Creepers do not prevent you
>from winning" -- interact with the Traitor Creeper?
>At first I thought that SL would allow a joint win: it keeps TT from
>preventing player A's win, but SL would not prevent player B's also
>winning.  But I quickly thought otherwise, looking at the intents: TT
>says "instead of" the other player, so if A is not prevented then B
>does not win in addition to A.  So, my guess would be Silver Lining
>nullifies the winning effects of The Traitor.  It would still go to
>the current player whenever a New Rule is played, of course.
>Fluxx mailing list

Current Thread