Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

Re: [Icehouse] Martian Backgammon question.

  • FromJorge Arroyo <trozo@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateTue, 24 Oct 2006 11:49:34 +0200
We played another game and this time we did as you, but if the re-entry point is a regular spot of the board, maybe pieces there should also be stacked by size and then moved smallest first... I guess all the possible variations make sense in a way...

Is there an official rule about this?

| Jorge Arroyo
| http://george.makasoft.net
On Oct 23, 2006, at 5:15 AM, rabbit@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx wrote:

I'm very very fond of martian backgammon. I say no to the "do you have to
bring the dead ones in first" -- we always play that you can choose to
leave one in the dead zone for strategic reasons. And no, we don't play
that order is important when bringing them back in.  And yes, the
stockpile is just for making it all look cool on your volcano board.

I think this is honestly one of the best medium-weight icehouse games.

Hello all,

   Tonight we tried this game for the first time and there was one
thing that wasn't very clear to us. When a piece is stepped on and
moved to the re-entry point, must the other player move it before
moving any other piece? (like in regular backgammon). Also, if
multiple pieces are eaten, is the order important? (will the way they
are stacked in the reentry point matter when the player is about to

   We actually played that eaten pieces were left outside the board,
then the player moved the pieces into the board in any order after
rolling (with 1 being the reentry point). This movement had to follow
the placement rules...

   Also, the reentry point of one player is part of the stockpile of
the other player. I'm guessing this doesn't really matter and doesn't
affect gameplay at all. Am I right?


Icehouse mailing list

Icehouse mailing list

Current Thread