Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

Re: [Icehouse] [Zendo] Another Spock Rule question

  • FromDoug Orleans <dougorleans@xxxxxxxxx>
  • DateWed, 3 Aug 2011 13:29:35 -0400
On Wed, Aug 3, 2011 at 1:03 PM, Shadowfirebird <shadowfirebird@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
> While this probably doesn't violate the Spock rule, it IS clearly not a
> valid rule, at least as stated.
> Rules are not allowed to reference anything external to the game.

Two things:

1. Rules are not allowed to reference any *physical* thing external to
the game.  That is, if you move any koan to any other location in
space or time, it will still have the same marking stone.  There is
absolutely no restriction about what *concepts* a rule can reference
(as long as they are constant in time, e.g. you would have to specify
an edition of the Scrabble dictionary to rule out words that might get
added in the future).

2. There is a difference between the statement of a rule, which is
(typically) an English sentence, and the rule itself, which is an
abstract set (finite or infinite) of koans that have the Buddha
nature.  As people have pointed out, the rule can be restated to avoid
all reference to a Scrabble dictionary (e.g. by enumerating the entire
finite set), but that would still be the same rule.