At 09:15 -0400 2009-07-30, Bryan Stout wrote:
There is an interesting rules question at boardgamegeek.com. The
question is: what if there is a tie for the winning condition, but one
of the tying players has win-preventing Creepers? Does that negate
the tie -- leaving only one clear winner -- or not?
There are good arguments on both sides. Here is the link:
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/427429 . What do *you* think?
Whatever we all think, I wish to invoke the Creator of the game to
enlighten us further. He has apparently been busy, though, so I just
want to put it on his to-do list, not necessarily put it at the top.
Here are my thoughts on the matter:
Thanks to promo cards like Cake and The Robot, it is possible to have
a "multiple victory" without actually having any cards that
explicitly allow for this possibility. I actually asked Andy about
this once, and his answer was that the game continues until there is
a single winner.
So, consider a case in which the goal is Toast, two players have Cake
and Bread split between them, and the same two players have The
Toaster and The Robot split between them. The game continues as
mentioned. Then one of them draws a Creeper with the "you don't win"
clause. The player with that Creeper is no longer a "winner", so the
other player wins.
Now, look at the case of the "10 Cards in Hand" goal being active
when two players have 10 cards. This looks like just a special case
of the situation I just described. The text about one player having
more cards than the other is therefore another way to get a clear
winner, not a way to make the game last longer. Then if one of those
gets/has a "you don't win" Creeper, they get excluded from victory
and the other player wins. Even if the player with the Creeper
actually had more cards.
Daniel W. Johnson
039 53 36 N / 086 11 55 W