Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

Re: [Icehouse] Zendo rules question

  • FromJoshua Kronengold <mneme@xxxxxx>
  • DateFri, 8 Dec 2006 11:17:20 -0600
Timothy Hunt writes:
>Now, I would argue that that's NOT allowed by the rule, as it's
>language dependent, and thus refers to something outside of the Koan -
>i.e. language.  "Red" is an inherent property.  "R-E-D" is not, for it
>would be different for French players: "R-O-U-G-E".
>Am I right in making such a call?


An arbitrary mapping between colors and numbers (including one that's
derived from mapping, or the periodic table, or whatever) is valid --
because the source of the mapping isn't important, nor does it need to
be understood to guess the rule.

       Joshua Kronengold (mneme@(io.com, labcats.org)) |\      _,,,--,,_  ,)
--^--   "Did you know, if you increment enough, you   /,`.-'`'   -,  ;-;;'
 /\\    get an extra digit?"  "I knew," weeps Six.    |,4-  ) )-,_ ) /\     
/-\\\   "We knew. But we had forgotten."	     '---''(_/--' (_/-'

Current Thread