Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

Re: [Icehouse] Zendo rules question

  • From"Daniel W. Johnson" <panoptes@xxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateFri, 8 Dec 2006 12:25:00 -0500
At 10:08 -0600 2006-12-08, Timothy Hunt wrote:
An interesting question came up recently about Zendo.  It says in the
rule book that a Rule cannot refer to anything outside the Koan in
space or time.  Clearly, Koans can refer to colour, which is an
inherent property of the pieces.  However, a Rule that was suggested

A Koan has the buddha nature, if and only if it contains a stack whose
total pip value is the same as the number of letters in the colour of
the top-most pyramid in that stack.

Now, I would argue that that's NOT allowed by the rule, as it's
language dependent, and thus refers to something outside of the Koan -
i.e. language.  "Red" is an inherent property.  "R-E-D" is not, for it
would be different for French players: "R-O-U-G-E".

So, the rule could refer to "the English name of the color" or just have an explicit "3 if red, 4 if blue, 5 if green, 6 if yellow".

Daniel W. Johnson
039 53 36 N / 086 11 55 W

Current Thread