Timothy Hunt wrote:
Ah. My mistake, then. I don't happen to have the card with me at the
moment, but my recollection was that the original rules prohibited
building a tree onto an existing nest but not onto an existing
singleton. Were that the case, you would need to be able to distinguish
a nest from a singleton.
FWIW, when my daughter and I were playing a bunch of Tic Tac Doh (it was
a fine thing to do while waiting for dinner to arrive at the local
Family Friendly Restaurant) we noticed the problem with opaques and
played a simple variant based on the principle "if you can't see it, it
doesn't exist" in which a nest is considered indistinguishable from a
single pyramid of the outermost size. Seemed to work, anyway.
Which is exactly what the rules on the Tic-Tac-Doh card from ICE-7
I'm inclined to say (given ICE-7 is the published version) that the
wiki is wrong in omitting this.