Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

Re: [Icehouse] WW5 Questions and Variant

  • FromNick Lamicela <nupanick@xxxxxxxxx>
  • DateWed, 28 Jan 2009 00:57:39 -0500
Well, one of my friends asked if you could retreat into the space your opponent was attacking from, since that space is being vacated anyway. We agreed that the defender moves first and then the attacker takes its place. But it does seem like the attacker should claim the win first if there are multiple filled continents. So I'll call it a tie.

I'd like to suggest a tie breaker round, in which all pieces are removed except the ones of the players involved in the tie, and play continues until a clear winner emerges. Re-evaluate for winners after all aftermath of an attack is complete. I think it should be called the Cold War round, like a sudden death crossed with an arms race.
~nupanick (or other appropriate name)

Guvf VF zl jvggl fvtangher.

On Wed, Jan 28, 2009 at 12:22 AM, James Hamilton <spamcan210@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
Also, suppose a player who controls 2 sectors of a foreign continent mounts a successful attack on the third, allowing them to move in and claim victory. However, the loser also controls 2 sectors of a different foreign continent. They retreat to the empty sector and claim victory. (This almost happened.) Is this a tie? Who wins? My reasoning is that the player who made the successful attack wins, based on the Treehouse rule "your turn, your win." Is this correct?

You both meet the "You win if all three territories in another colored continent are occupied by pieces of your color - provided you also have at least one piece of your color in your home continent." win condition, so you both win.  It's a tie.

Thank you for responding. However, I don't believe ties should be allowed in this game. It's World War 5! There can be only one world conqueror! Therefore, I proposed a solution that is consistent with previous games. I wonder what the consensus is here on the list?

Icehouse mailing list

Current Thread