Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

Re: [Icehouse] Gnostica Questions

  • From"Ryan Hackel" <deeplogic@xxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateTue, 13 Oct 2009 15:03:41 -0400
There's a link to a Tarotless "learner's deck" for Gnostica on that game's IceWiki page. It has all the game text on the cards.


-----Original Message-----
From: "Aaron Dalton" [aaron@xxxxxxxxxx]
Date: 10/13/2009 02:36 PM
To: "Icehouse Discussion List" <icehouse@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Subject: Re: [Icehouse] Gnostica Questions

I'm designing a tarot-less Gnostica deck for personal use, and I had a
few questions:

1) Can somebody explain the exact hierarchy of the 5 suits? My question
is in regards to GROWing a territory. The rules state: "Thus a spot
card can be grown to a royalty card, or a royalty card can be grown to a
major arcana card." Can a 10-spot be turned into any royal, and any
royal into any arcana? I assume I can turn any 5-spot into any 6-spot,
but I don't fully understand how the royals and the arcana work.

2) Is the tile pattern of the board significant in any way, or is it
purely aesthetic?

3) In the graphic at the top of the rules page
(http://tinyurl.com/jql78), there is a territory connected only
diagonally. Since pieces can't be oriented diagonally, I assumed all
diagonal connections were ignored. Are cells only diagonally connected
to territories wasteland, or void?

That's it for now. My wife and I are looking forward to our first play.

Icehouse mailing list

   Click now for prescreened plumbing contractors.
Click Here For More Information

Current Thread