Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

[Icehouse] Gnostica Questions

  • FromAaron Dalton <aaron@xxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateTue, 13 Oct 2009 09:31:01 -0600
I'm designing a tarot-less Gnostica deck for personal use, and I had a few questions:

1) Can somebody explain the exact hierarchy of the 5 suits? My question is in regards to GROWing a territory. The rules state: "Thus a spot card can be grown to a royalty card, or a royalty card can be grown to a major arcana card." Can a 10-spot be turned into any royal, and any royal into any arcana? I assume I can turn any 5-spot into any 6-spot, but I don't fully understand how the royals and the arcana work.

2) Is the tile pattern of the board significant in any way, or is it purely aesthetic?

3) In the graphic at the top of the rules page (http://tinyurl.com/jql78), there is a territory connected only diagonally. Since pieces can't be oriented diagonally, I assumed all diagonal connections were ignored. Are cells only diagonally connected to territories wasteland, or void?

That's it for now.  My wife and I are looking forward to our first play.


Current Thread