Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

Re: [Icehouse] Martian Coasters rule question

  • From"James Hazelton" <jameshazelton@xxxxxxxxx>
  • DateMon, 18 Dec 2006 21:36:06 -0600
I think it's immediate--blue wins.  If ever it isn't immediate, it's usually stated pretty plainly in the rules (Chrononauts, for example).

On 12/18/06, Bart Janssens <bartjanssens@xxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
Season's Greetings everybody!  I have a rule question for Martian Coasters.

It is possible to achieve a Nest on your home square out-of-turn.  I can
only think
of one way it can happen, but there may be more.  If you have all three
pieces 'home', in the proper
order, but another player's piece(s) is/are between them, and they Dig
them out, you have your Nest.
Do you win immediately? Or do you have to win on your turn?

Consider this setup:  Blue and Green coasters are adjoining, with arrows
giving a three-space path
from Blue's center to Green's.  The Blue center has (bottom to top) the
Blue pawn, Blue drone, Green
pawn, and Blue queen;  the Green center has the other two Green pieces.
It's Green's turn; he/she
rolls a Dig and a 4 (or more).  Green can use those 4 movement points to
dig out the Pawn and get it
home, and then use the Dig action to Nest all three pieces. However,
Blue has gotten a Nest as well -
and that happened first, even though it's not Blue's turn.
Who wins?

Bart Janssens
Double-Duty Lab Rabbit

Icehouse mailing list