Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

Re: [Icehouse] Martian Coasters rule question

  • From"James Hazelton" <jameshazelton@xxxxxxxxx>
  • DateTue, 19 Dec 2006 10:04:49 -0600
Well, the big difference between MC and TH is that in TH, once you make your move, your turn is over.  In MC, you can make a move that, potentially, can cause someone else to win, and then later in the move you can win for yourself.  The two options of when to declare a winner--immediately or at the end of turn--would be the same thing in TH.

On 12/19/06, Don Sheldon <don.sheldon@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
On 12/19/06, Carol Townsend <carol@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
> I'd say he's right - the rules state: "The first player to build a nest in
> the center of their coaster wins!"
> Of course, Andy may overrule any of this if he so chooses.  He's the final
> verdict for all rules questions!  He's just crazy busy (like the rest of
> us!) on cool stuff and may not be able to check email for a day or so

It seems to me (I say with my complete lack of authority) that a rule
similar to the one in Treehouse should apply.  If you make a move and
someone else wins, they win.  Unless you also win, then you win.  And
if you make two people who aren't you win then they just tie.  None of
which would make any sense unless you check the board position at the
end of your turn.

But I haven't even played this game yet so... yeah.

- |) () /\/
  Hey, anyone on SDG, go accept my Homeworlds challenge, I need
intellectual stimulation over the holidays which circumstances dictate
must be online.
Icehouse mailing list