Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

Re: [Icehouse] Martian Coasters rule question

  • From"Carol Townsend" <carol@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateTue, 19 Dec 2006 08:33:33 -0600
I'd say he's right - the rules state: "The first player to build a nest in the center of their coaster wins!"

Coaster color matches?  yup.
Nest configuration built? yup.
location of nest in center? yup
Player claims that combo?  yup.


Of course, Andy may overrule any of this if he so chooses.  He's the final verdict for all rules questions!  He's just crazy busy (like the rest of us!) on cool stuff and may not be able to check email for a day or so

Thanks for playing Martian Coasters and asking questions!  The game rocks - but not nearly so much as Pyramid Players do!  (or should that be "People who Play with Pyramids" ??) 


On 12/18/06, James Hazelton <jameshazelton@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
I think it's immediate--blue wins.  If ever it isn't immediate, it's usually stated pretty plainly in the rules (Chrononauts, for example).

On 12/18/06, Bart Janssens <bartjanssens@xxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
Season's Greetings everybody!  I have a rule question for Martian Coasters.

It is possible to achieve a Nest on your home square out-of-turn.  I can
only think
of one way it can happen, but there may be more.  If you have all three
pieces 'home', in the proper
order, but another player's piece(s) is/are between them, and they Dig
them out, you have your Nest.
Do you win immediately? Or do you have to win on your turn?

Consider this setup:  Blue and Green coasters are adjoining, with arrows
giving a three-space path
from Blue's center to Green's.  The Blue center has (bottom to top) the
Blue pawn, Blue drone, Green
pawn, and Blue queen;  the Green center has the other two Green pieces.
It's Green's turn; he/she
rolls a Dig and a 4 (or more).  Green can use those 4 movement points to
dig out the Pawn and get it
home, and then use the Dig action to Nest all three pieces. However,
Blue has gotten a Nest as well -
and that happened first, even though it's not Blue's turn.
Who wins?

Bart Janssens
Double-Duty Lab Rabbit

Icehouse mailing list

Icehouse mailing list