On Mon, 29 Jan 2007 09:20:42 -0500, "Don Sheldon" wrote: > On 1/28/07, Brian Campbell <lambda@xxxxxxx> wrote: > > Something to watch out for that I missed the first time I read the > > rules is that you can only build pieces of a color that you already > > have in the system. For instance, if you have only a green piece in a > > system, you can only build green pieces. If you have a yellow and red > > piece in a system with a green star, then you can only build yellow > > or red pieces in that system. I'm not sure how I missed it, since > > it's stated pretty unambiguously, but I played the first few games > > without that rule and the game was much less interesting. > > I made the same mistake in my first few games, so don't feel bad that > you missed it. Going back, yeah, I felt like an idiot too for not > seeing it the first time even though it's plain as day. Perhaps some > emphasis is in order on the rules pages. I attempted my first game of Homeworlds with my son this weekend. We also forgot to play with this rule, (even though I _know_ I had read it at least once). So here I am feeling stupid, (but grateful for this list). But it would definitely appear that this is a common problem in first-time play. I don't know what might be the best way to emphasize the restriction in the rules. Maybe a new section at the end of the rules: Reminders * You may not build a ship if there is a smaller ship of the same color in the global stash. * You may not build a ship if you don't already have a ship of the same color in the same star system. * You may not attack a ship unless you have a ship that's the same size or larger in the same star system. Would that help, you think? -Carl PS. If the two-player variant, ("Binary Homeworlds"), is officially recognized by the author, it would be nice to have its adaptations listed in a final "Variant for two players" section of the rules. Is John Cooper reading this list, or should I be CC:ing him with some address?
Description: PGP signature