Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

RE: [Fluxx] RE: Must draw first?

  • From"Bob Winans" <rwinans@xxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateSat, 6 Oct 2007 21:31:52 -0400



I have received some off-list e-mail telling me how wrong I am,

I am not angry about them, but I would like to set anyone’s conception of my stance straight.


The original question (not posed by me) was MUST you draw first.


Since the rules don’t state you must, then I would have to say: No you don’t have to draw first, but you MUST draw during your turn.

The rule also don’t state that that you can do any phase in any order


Now, I always draw first and play second.

It only seems logical.

If you were playing at my table with my deck, you would draw first and play second. (If necessary I would make this a house rule)


If however you personally feel that you want to have the option to play first and then draw…. Knock yourself out.

It would add a twist to the game dynamic. But make sure all the players are aware of this possibility. Make it your own house rule.


If there is going to be a sanctioned FLUXX tournament, then an official Looney Labs ruling would be in order.


Otherwise…. Can we end this thread and go back to having fun!?!




P.S. the rules also don’t state that you can’t hit you opponents over the head with a dead fish….. But I feel that doing so would be in bad form J (unless it was a house rule)