On Oct 6, 2007, at 10:09 PM, Anestis Kozakis wrote:
I'm sorry, guys. I never *intend* to start a crazy reply-fest, I
Also, I started playing about Fluxx Version 2 or so. And the back of
the Box actually did have a summary of play. And the summary of play
did say (from memory), "Draw a Card, Play a Card".
"Simple? Fluxx has but one rule: 'Draw one card
and then play one card.' What cards could you
play? Well, you could play Time, or War, or per-
haps Love. I shall play Chocolate–it is a fine
thing to have Chocolate. What's this? You have
played the card 'Play two cards.' Well, play a
second card! Don't you know the rule of Fluxx?
It is this: 'Draw one card and then play two
cards.' Well, that's what it is now. Perfectly sim-
ple. The goal of the game? Oh, I'm terribly sorry."
But the Basic Rules card says:
"Draw 1 card per turn.
Play 1 card per turn.
No Hand Limit.
No Keeper Limit."
It doesn't say you *must* to do it in that order, but it doesn't say
you can do it out of that order either. That's why I had the question.
People have different interpretations of the rules. If you wanna play
like Andy does, then do so. If you wanna play your way, do so.
I do want to play like Andy does. That's why I asked the question:
to get Andy's take on it. I didn't realize quite how many posts I'd
be conjuring. Until I saw the Ask Andy about the Hand Limit, I had
no idea that you could choose to apply it on your own turn. Until I
ran into a situation where I would have preferred to play before I
drew my cards, it never occurred to me that the rules don't say you
*have to* draw first, so I became curious and wanted to know what
P.S. the rules also don't state that you can't hit you opponents
head with a dead fish….. But I feel that doing so would be in bad
(unless it was a house rule)
Awww darn it. I was gonna take my trout to the next game :-/
I prefer to use a live fish, anyway.