Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

Re: [Fluxx] Cheese Shop and Get On With It!

  • FromAndrew Barton <andrew.157barton@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateSat, 8 Nov 2008 03:06:24 +0000 (GMT)
On Nov 6, 2008, at 11:27 PM, Bryan Stout wrote:

> In Carol's situation, the Get On With It! card has you discard your  
> hand, and then draw 3 more cards.  I see them as being sequential  
> rather than simultaneous,...

Alan Anderson
> The card says "and", not "then".  There's no indication that they are  
> anything other than simultaneous.

> My interpretation: he didn't win.

I think the question is whether you can win 'during' the resolution of playing a card.  Andy is quoted in the Wiki, discussion page, Talk:Fluxx as saying
'The key point here is that goals are the most instant of all the cards in Fluxx. Every other "instant" action takes a lower precedence, unless the card specifically states otherwise (like Larry or the Potato). The initial ruling here would have undermined what I consider to be the foundation of Fluxx: you meet the goal, you win immediately.'

But consider this situation: The Cheese Shop goal is in play, and there are two players who have no cards in hand or anything else.  I play 'Everybody Gets 1', draw some cards, and am supposed to give 1 to each player.  The moment I give a card to one of the players who had none, the other wins.  Are we happy with this?

Or, I have one card in my hand and it is Jackpot.  I play it, and now have nothing because I haven't yet carried out its instruction to Draw 3.  Do I win?