Oh, I forgot to add: you can dig at any time. If you roll "dig"
it costs no movement points. If you don't roll a dig, your
movement points are spent to move your 'mids - movement UP to the top
is still movement.
On 12/16/06, Carol Townsend <carol.townsend@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
The Dig rule states (i.e., when rolling it on the Treehouse die):
Dig: You may move as many of your pieces as you wish to the tops of the towers they are in.
And the Movement rule states:
... a piece may "dig" to the top of the stack it's in by spending the Movement Points needed to move that piece one space.
It doesn't say "per layer" on either - it says "to the top."
As for the "small blue covered by medium yellow covered by medium blue"
scenario that Kimberly pointed out - yes, it would be nice if you could
dig part way (i.e., dig the small blue to between the medium yellow and
medium blue), but you can always dig the small blue to the top -
followed by the medium blue to the new top. Yes, this requires
another 2 movement points to do it, but it only requires 1 dig
rolled. You just have to be specific about which 'mid you're
Scenario: The center of my blue coaster has the following: small
blue covered by medium yellow covered by medium blue covered by large
blue. It is not a win because there's a yellow in between my
'mids. However, if I roll a dig, I win. Dig says you can
move as many of your pieces as you wish to the top.... so if I "mess
up" and move my medium to the top of the tower first (from the bottom:
sm bl, med y, lg bl, med bl) I still have Dig - it's still my turn - so
I move the small to the top (from the bottom now: med y, lg bl, med bl,
sm bl) then dig the med (med y, lg bl, sm bl, med bl) then the large
(med y, sm bl, med bl, lg bl).
Long story short - dig takes things to the top. Rolling a dig
allows AS MANY 'mids as I want to go to the top. If I've moved
something which causes a "it used to be on top" 'mid to not be on top
any more, then it can be part of the "as many 'mids as I want" set
now. My turn isn't over until I pass the dice.
On 12/16/06, Jeff Zeitlin
On the wiki, M5rammy asks for clarification/others' interpretation of
the rules pertaining to digging, and offers three interpretations:
(1) You may choose to dig on any turn. It costs (pipsize) movement
points PER LAYER that you choose to dig upward. If you roll DIG, you
can dig ALL of your pieces at no movement cost.
(2) You may choose to dig on any turn. It costs (pipsize) movement
points to dig to the top of the stack, regardless of how many layers you
are digging upward. If you roll DIG, you can dig ALL of your pieces at
no movement cost.
(3) You may dig only if you roll DIG. When you do, it costs (pipsize)
movement points to dig to the top of the stack.
He/she also inquires if there is an option to dig only partway, if (2)
or (3) is the preferred interpretation.
My reply was that I believe that interpretation (2) was the correct
interpretation, and that since I could not see a reason why one would
want to dig only partway up, I would disallow that option.
Icehouse mailing list