Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

Re: [Icehouse] Martian Coasters Question - Seeking Other's Thoughts

  • From"Timothy Hunt" <games@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateSat, 16 Dec 2006 15:44:40 -0600

I suspect you're misunderstanding Daniel's question.  He's not asking
"Can I only move one space per turn?"  But "Do I move a space, then
check the arrows on the new space to se where I'm allowed to move
before I move the to the next space?"

Let me give an example:


Daniel's question is
"You can't
use three movement points to move your pawn three spaces in the
direction of one of its current arrows?"

Using the picture above, looking at the blue pawn, there is an arrow
pointing "south".  If I rolled a 2, could I look at that arrow, and
move the blue pawn on to the red pawn?  The answer is no, as the space
between the two pawns has no south-facing arrow.  You'd move the pawn
one square south, and then look again so see which directions you're
allowed to go, then move one square, and look again.

That, I believe, is what Daniel means by "one space at a time".  Not
"one space per turn".