Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

Re: [Icehouse] Martian Coasters Question - Seeking Other's Thoughts

  • From"Timothy Hunt" <games@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateSat, 16 Dec 2006 11:11:46 -0600
The rules say:
'A piece may not be moved if another piece is sitting on top of it,
but a piece may "dig" to the top of the stack it's in by spending the
Movement Points needed to move that piece one space'

So, yes, Option 2 is the correct interpretation.

As for Kimberly's example, it's true that in this situation, one would
desire to not move the small piece to the top but only up one layer,
in practice I don't think it would happen.

The only way it would happen is if you have a stack of your pawn and
an opponent's piece on top, and then you place your drone on top of
this stack!  The correct course of action, in such a position would be
to spend the one point to dig your pawn up first, and then move the
drone on top.

In other words, getting yourself into such a position is such poor
play that they deserve the 1+2+3 point penalty required to fix it.
IMO :)