Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

Re: [Fluxx] Why You Can't Apply the Hand Limit During Your Turn

  • FromAlan Anderson <aranders@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateWed, 10 Oct 2007 19:45:17 -0400

Hand Limit 2
If it isn't your turn, you should only have 2 cards in your hand. If you have extra cards, discard them immediately.

During your turn, you may ignore the Hand Limit, as long as you discard all but 2 of your cards when you end your turn.

On Oct 10, 2007, at 3:15 PM, James Hazelton wrote:

What part of the Hand Limit does the "During your turn" player (hereafter known as the "turn player") get to ignore?

He gets to ignore the directions in the second sentence: "If you have extra cards, discard them immediately." That's the only imperative in the text.

The compulsion to discard applies to only the non-turn players, and the turn player when his turn ends.

The compulsion to discard is unqualified. "If you have extra cards, discard them immediately." It applies to everyone...but the third sentence lets the player whose turn it is ignore it if desired.

That's how *I* read it, anyway.