Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

Re: [Fluxx] Nothing to draw

  • FromMichael Brian De Mesa <mikelodeon11@xxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateSun, 11 Jan 2009 13:36:57 -0800
Ohh, that makes sense.  It's like having the rule "play 4" and you only have 2 cards. 
Just get/play cards that are available.  Though the part about getting to finish your draw
phase a little bit later is debatable. But i think someone answered that too.
Thanks for clearing that up.

> Date: Sun, 11 Jan 2009 12:16:35 -0500
> From: andy@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
> To: fluxx@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
> Subject: Re: [Fluxx] Nothing to draw
> Hi Michael,
> I think those who've written before me have already answered this pretty
> well, but just for completeness, here's my reply...
> In general, if the rules command you to do something impossible, then do as
> much as you can, and move on.
> If the rule says Play 3 and you only have 2 cards, then you Play 2 and
> stop. Similarly, if the rule says Draw 4 and there are only 3 cards for you
> to draw (even after reshuffling) then you draw 3 cards and proceed with the
> Play phase. In this very rare scenario, all players will have giant
> handfuls of cards and as noted, all it will take is a Hand Limit to flood
> the discard pile. This means that if you play a Hand Limit at this point,
> you'll force everyone else to discard, and then, assuming your turn isn't
> over, you'll be able to draw the extra card(s) you were supposed to get
> during the Draw phase, the same way you draw more cards if you increase the
> Draw amount during your turn.
> If you play an Action that requires you to draw more cards than are
> available, you again draw as many as you can and make do with what you have
> at that point. If you don't get your full value for the card because of the
> situation, maybe it's not a good idea to play that card at this time. The
> point is that no, you would not redraw the Action played as one of the
> cards for the Action. The Action card does not become part of the discard
> pile until after the Action has been fully resolved.
> I find it helpful to imagine that the Action card hovers in the air above
> the discard pile while the Action is happening, perhaps spinning slowly in
> space so that it can be seen by all, then gently settling down onto the
> discard pile afterwards.
> -- Andy Looney
> --On January 10, 2009 11:24:15 PM -0800 Michael Brian De Mesa
> <mikelodeon11@xxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
> > Hi, I'm quite new to Fluxx and already a fan of it. I played Fluxx 3.1,
> > Eco and Zombie Fluxx.
> >
> > Scenario: Game just started for Zombie Fluxx and there's "Draw 5, Play 1"
> > on the rules. Everyone keeps piling up their "hand" size. Mostly keepers,
> > creepers and new rules are being played. Also nobody wants to play any
> > hand limit rules. The draw pile is dwindling in size and there's only
> > one card in the discard pile.
> >
> > here's my question (answer might be obvious):
> > So what happens if you run out of card to draw? Do you just skip the
> > draw phase of your turn till your next turn comes up where you can draw
> > enough cards for the 'draw requirement'? or draw what you can now and
> > proceed to you turn? Is there a special rule to this?
> >
> > ~Michael
> >
> >
> > __________________________________________________
> > Windows Live™ Hotmail®: Chat. Store. Share. Do more with mail. See how
> > it works.
> _______________________________________________
> Fluxx mailing list
> Fluxx@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
> http://lists.looneylabs.com/mailman/listinfo/fluxx

Windows Live™ Hotmail®: Chat. Store. Share. Do more with mail. Check it out.