Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

Re: [Icehouse] Winter IGDC - Coasters?

  • Fromkerry_and_ryan@xxxxxxx
  • DateFri, 21 Sep 2007 17:21:57 +0000
A question for potential judges of the Winter IGDC:
If a game requires 1 to 4 or 5 3x3 boards without any arrows, would that count as "a Martian Coaster game"?

For instance, is Twin Win a Martian Coaster game?  It uses a single 3x3 board and completely ignores the arrows on the original coaster.  Instead it uses its own "clockwise or to or from the center" implied arrows.

Of course every designer will likely interpret the requirements of competition slightly differently, but how badly would you personally penalize, say, Twin Win if it were in the running?