Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

[Fluxx] Cheese Shop and Get On With It!

  • From"Carol Townsend" <carol.townsend@xxxxxxxxx>
  • DateThu, 6 Nov 2008 19:57:31 -0600
Looking over the past discussions (and I'll admit that I haven't read them deeply recently), and seeing what Andy's just put up as an "Ask Andy" on Wunderland, I wanted to post this, as I haven't seen this specific card combo discussed.  I'm including the card wording for ease of reference.

Cards in question:
 - Cheese Shop (Goal) You win if you are the only player in possession of absolutely nothing, i.e. no Keepers, no Creepers, and no cards in your hand.

 - Get On With It! (New Rule)  At any time before your final Play, you may discard your entire hand and draw a new hand of 3 cards.  This is a free action but if you take it, your turn ends immediately.

The rules included a Play 2 or more (I can't remember exactly how many the Play Rule was), so the Get On With It! was an active, valid rule.  One player had no Keepers and Creepers, and chose as his first play to Get On With It and discarded his hand.  He declared himself the winner.

Was he the winner?  Some of the players said that he hadn't finished his turn because he hadn't drawn the new hand of 3 cards as "Get On With It" instructs him to do.  Since he was still in the middle of obeying that New Rule (he'd discarded), he had to finish obeying it (draw the new hand) before he could look around and see if he was the winner.  It's never been the rule that you wait until the end of your turn to see if you're the winner (i.e., you win immediately when you satisfy the Goal) but he was in the middle of the Rule.  A good argument for "he won" includes the New Rule "Play All" - once you play something that makes you win, then you win - even if you're still "in the middle" of following that New Rule.

Discussion?  Ideas?  Thoughts? Opinions?