Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

Re: [Fluxx] Cheese Shop and Get On With It!

  • From"Mark D. McKean" <qpanda@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateThu, 06 Nov 2008 23:50:51 -0500
on 11/6/08 10:07 pm, Buddha Buck at blaisepascal@xxxxxxxxx wrote:

> Hmmm, another hypothetical situation:
> I have no creepers or keepers, but have some in my hand.  The Goal is
> Cheese Shop, so in order to win I have to get rid of my hand without
> playing the creepers in my hand.  I have multiple plays left.  I play
> "Draw 3, Play 2 Of Them" (D3P2).  I set aside my hand, and draw "Get
> On With It" (GOWI) and two {cr,k}eepers.  I play GOWI, and since it is
> "any time before my final Play", I invoke GOWI.  Do I win before I
> draw 3?  Do I still have to play the 2nd card from D3P2?

Good question. I think I would rule that since the cards you draw from D3P2
are technically not part of your hand, you would be able to win that way. It
says "any time", which does not force you to complete D3P2 before doing it.
But that's just my opinion.

However, what really prompted me to respond was your mention of "creepers in
my hand". You should never have creepers in your hand; you play them
immediately as soon as you draw them. Now, limit your reference to just
keepers, and the hypothetical is still valid, but if creepers are involved
you wouldn't be able to win, because any creepers drawn during D3P2 would
immediately go in front of you before you had a chance to play GOWI.


Mark D. McKean - The Quantum Panda
qpanda@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx - http://www.quantumpanda.com
C-Leapers <>< HL-Christians <>< B5-Christians
"He only understood one or two things in the whole world--samurai movies
 and the Macintosh--and he understood them far, far too well."
   --Neal Stephenson, _Snow Crash_