Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

Re: [Fluxx] Cheese Shop and Get On With It!

  • From"Bryan Stout" <bryan.stout@xxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateThu, 06 Nov 2008 23:27:50 -0500
From: "Rev. Bob" <redbaron@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
On Thu, Nov 6, 2008 at 8:57 PM, Carol Townsend <carol.townsend@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:

The rules included a Play 2 or more (I can't remember exactly how many the
Play Rule was), so the Get On With It! was an active, valid rule.  One
player had no Keepers and Creepers, and chose as his first play to Get On
With It and discarded his hand.  He declared himself the winner.

I'm gonna have to cite Andy's decision on the Radioactive Potato and
say no, he doesn't win.

The relevant messages are here:

Robert Hood - Hixson, TN

I disagree, I think. The situation you refer to is about how the Potato shifts position whenever someone changes the Goal. Those two things are simultaneous, so you cannot claim a win after the Goal changes but before the Potato shifts.

In Carol's situation, the Get On With It! card has you discard your hand, and then draw 3 more cards. I see them as being sequential rather than simultaneous, just like in your turn you draw, then play. So there is a space in there for pausing and claiming a win while you are still bereft of cards.

I could see Andy ruling either way, though.