Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive
Re: [Fluxx] Must draw first?
- From"James Hazelton" <jameshazelton@xxxxxxxxx>
- DateFri, 5 Oct 2007 15:55:00 -0500
Yes, you do have to draw before you play, and I have two citations to prove this.
The first is on any "Draw" New Rule. It says "The person who played this card should immediately draw extra cards..." If Drawing was allowed at any point in the turn, "Draw" cards would not mandate that the new rules be observed immediately. In a game where Drawing was allowed at any time, "immediately" would not be a necessary part of this text.
Next, check out the How to Play Fluxx rules insert in your deck. I'm looking at the most current version of the rules (3.1b) and it clearly states the flow of a turn:
"On your turn...
1) Draw the number of cards currently required.
2) Play the number of cards currently required.
3) Discard down to the current Hand Limit (if any).
3) Discard Keepers down to the current Keeper Limit (if any)."