Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

Re: [Fluxx] Must draw first?

  • From"James Hazelton" <jameshazelton@xxxxxxxxx>
  • DateFri, 5 Oct 2007 20:36:21 -0500
I think I can discredit Andy's Hand Limit video from being used as evidence. (It sounds like I've been playing too much Phoenix Wright.)

It could be that, in normal cases, the Hand & Keeper Limits must wait until the end of the turn, and you can't opt to discard early. However, since the Hand Limit card states that you may discard before the end of your turn, this is allowing the players to break the normal rule laid out in the rule sheet. It just so happens that ever Limit functions this way, so we do not think of it as a special non-core rule, even though it is.

To put it another way--I don't know if the last paragraph made any sense--the only reason Hand & Keeper Limits work that way is because the card text states that in these specific cases, you may do things out of turn. Since Draw and Play rules don't have this "may" text, it would be improper to assume that they fall under this mechanic as well.

In summary, it is the text on the card that causes the option with Hand & Keeper Limits. Since Draw & Play rules don't have this text, they are not ambiguous and must return to the core rules as laid out in the rule sheet (Draw before Play).