Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

RE: [Fluxx] Must draw first?

  • From"Bob Winans" <rwinans@xxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateFri, 5 Oct 2007 21:19:47 -0400

Not to beat a dead horse but if you watch Andy’s answer to the Hand Limit Two question http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SuGynyj6D-c

You will see where he discards down to the hand limit and then plays the number of cards required (play all in the example)


Therefore, if you observe all the rule during your turn the order should not matter.


As an example.


If you had the brain, tv and love.

If the rule play all was already in play.

And in your hand you had the goal “the brain and no tv” , keeper limit two, and rules reset.

You could play keeper limit two

Discard the tv

And then play the brain and no tv and win.


Personally I don’t see an advantage to waiting to draw a card.

As knowing all the cards in your hand before you play anything is an advantage.

Again the same example for the hand limit two, play all as above.

If you had put down the two keepers and then drawn your cards, then you would have only been able to discard 1 card and not the three.




From: fluxx-bounces@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx [mailto:fluxx-bounces@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx] On Behalf Of James Hazelton
Sent: Friday, October 05, 2007 4:55 PM
To: Fluxx Discussion List
Subject: Re: [Fluxx] Must draw first?


Yes, you do have to draw before you play, and I have two citations to prove this.

The first is on any "Draw" New Rule. It says "The person who played this card should immediately draw extra cards..." If Drawing was allowed at any point in the turn, "Draw" cards would not mandate that the new rules be observed immediately. In a game where Drawing was allowed at any time, "immediately" would not be a necessary part of this text.

Next, check out the How to Play Fluxx rules insert in your deck. I'm looking at the most current version of the rules (3.1b) and it clearly states the flow of a turn:

"On your turn...
1) Draw the number of cards currently required.
2) Play the number of cards currently required.
3) Discard down to the current Hand Limit (if any).
3) Discard Keepers down to the current Keeper Limit (if any)."