Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

RE: [Fluxx] Must draw first?

  • From"Bob Winans" <rwinans@xxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateFri, 5 Oct 2007 21:33:11 -0400
I agree.
Since the rules don't state, you "MUST" draw first, I think you can draw at
any phase of your turn cycle.

Also on the draw X cards. The wording states that if you haven't already
drawn enough cards draw the full amount now.

So when that card comes into play, the "play" phase is suspended, and you
are forced to draw.

On the "Play this card now" cards, like the creeper, (I don't remember any
other "play now" cards off the top of my head) there would be an advantage
to playing your cards first and then drawing.

You could satisfy a win condition before having to draw.

I.e. after you win you draw your card, (just to see what it would have been)
and it turn out to be the radio active potato...

(I pre-ordered my Zombie Fluxx deck from my FLGS and it hasn't come in yet.
I probably won't get it until next week, if I'm lucky)

In any case, it is definitely open for a house rule.


-----Original Message-----
From: fluxx-bounces@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
[mailto:fluxx-bounces@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx] On Behalf Of Joseph Pate
Sent: Friday, October 05, 2007 7:51 PM
To: fluxx@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Subject: Re: [Fluxx] Must draw first?

I'll weigh in here on the side of "don't gotta": i.e. Fluxx is designed 
to be a game where you don't need to know any rules that aren't printed
on the cards.  Therefore, since the basic rules don't explicitly say you
must draw first, you don't have to.

Now, with the new forced-play Creeper cards, I'm wondering if there will
be explicit wording on the basic rules to say draw first (so that you 
have to play creepers if you draw them), or whether you can play paranoid
and run through your play quota with existing cards (if you have enough),
before potentially drawing a creeper and losing choices.  Certainly, 
paranoia is highly appropriate in a Zombie theme, so I hope it remains 
optional -- at least, to the same extent that it's optional now, obviously
Andy might chime in and say he always intended for draws to happen first, 
and now he has to figure out the best way to clarify that in future 
releases of Fluxx.

More wrinkles in Fluxx are generally a good thing.  Anyone can always use
house rules (e.g. Must Draw First) if they want to cut down on wrinkles.

My $.02355 (adjusted for inflation)


On Fri, 5 Oct 2007 15:55:00 -0500, "James Hazelton" wrote:
> The first is on any "Draw" New Rule. It says "The person who played this
> card should immediately draw extra cards..." If Drawing was allowed at any
> point in the turn, "Draw" cards would not mandate that the new rules be
> observed immediately. In a game where Drawing was allowed at any time,
> "immediately" would not be a necessary part of this text.

You'd still need some clarification that the rule applies to the
player of the new-rule card, (even if that player had previously
satisfied the "draw" portion of his/here turn).

> "On your turn...
> 1) Draw the number of cards currently required.
> 2) Play the number of cards currently required.
> 3) Discard down to the current Hand Limit (if any).
> 3) Discard Keepers down to the current Keeper Limit (if any)."

But Andy's "Ask Andy" video on the hand limit clearly demonstrates
that the hand limit can be observed before the "play" portion of the
turn is complete. So the order above can't be interpreted as strictly
as you might.

So I don't see that either of these pieces of evidence strongly
contradict the "may draw after playing" interpretation. But it's
definitely a place for Andy to rule.

Meanwhile, has anyone come up with a situation without any Blanxx in
play where there's any advantage to playing before drawing? All of the
relevant limits are suspended for a player's turn, so they don't come
into play here.


Fluxx mailing list

Current Thread