Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

Re: [Fluxx] Must draw first?

  • FromJoseph Pate <jpate@xxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateFri, 5 Oct 2007 16:50:57 -0700 (PDT)
I'll weigh in here on the side of "don't gotta": i.e. Fluxx is designed 
to be a game where you don't need to know any rules that aren't printed
on the cards.  Therefore, since the basic rules don't explicitly say you
must draw first, you don't have to.

Now, with the new forced-play Creeper cards, I'm wondering if there will
be explicit wording on the basic rules to say draw first (so that you 
have to play creepers if you draw them), or whether you can play paranoid
and run through your play quota with existing cards (if you have enough),
before potentially drawing a creeper and losing choices.  Certainly, 
paranoia is highly appropriate in a Zombie theme, so I hope it remains 
optional -- at least, to the same extent that it's optional now, obviously
Andy might chime in and say he always intended for draws to happen first, 
and now he has to figure out the best way to clarify that in future 
releases of Fluxx.

More wrinkles in Fluxx are generally a good thing.  Anyone can always use
house rules (e.g. Must Draw First) if they want to cut down on wrinkles.

My $.02355 (adjusted for inflation)


On Fri, 5 Oct 2007 15:55:00 -0500, "James Hazelton" wrote:
> The first is on any "Draw" New Rule. It says "The person who played this
> card should immediately draw extra cards..." If Drawing was allowed at any
> point in the turn, "Draw" cards would not mandate that the new rules be
> observed immediately. In a game where Drawing was allowed at any time,
> "immediately" would not be a necessary part of this text.

You'd still need some clarification that the rule applies to the
player of the new-rule card, (even if that player had previously
satisfied the "draw" portion of his/here turn).

> "On your turn...
> 1) Draw the number of cards currently required.
> 2) Play the number of cards currently required.
> 3) Discard down to the current Hand Limit (if any).
> 3) Discard Keepers down to the current Keeper Limit (if any)."

But Andy's "Ask Andy" video on the hand limit clearly demonstrates
that the hand limit can be observed before the "play" portion of the
turn is complete. So the order above can't be interpreted as strictly
as you might.

So I don't see that either of these pieces of evidence strongly
contradict the "may draw after playing" interpretation. But it's
definitely a place for Andy to rule.

Meanwhile, has anyone come up with a situation without any Blanxx in
play where there's any advantage to playing before drawing? All of the
relevant limits are suspended for a player's turn, so they don't come
into play here.


Current Thread