Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

Re: [Icehouse] Binary Homeworlds help needed

  • FromDon Sheldon <don.sheldon@xxxxxxxxx>
  • DateFri, 13 Feb 2009 09:35:42 -0500
On 2/13/09, miyu <xmiyux@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
> I do have a Homeworlds question.  Can a large ship attack and turn another
> large ship?  the rules I read online said the attacked ship had to be
> smaller than the attacker to be defeated (therefore ties would just be
> stalemates).  That is how I taught my students this week but I wondered if
> it was correct.

>From the rules: "You CANNOT take control of an enemy ship if it's
LARGER than the largest ship you own in the system."  (Emphasis mine.)
 Yes, a large ship can capture a large ship.

> I realized I had already screwed up one rule. I thought you could construct
> any color ship.  I had missed the part about needing a ship of that color in
> the system already.

I made this mistake in my first few games too.  It changes things a
lot.  The game becomes far less strategic if you allow this.  Glad you
caught it.

- |) () /\/