On Fri, Feb 13, 2009 at 11:05 AM, J B Bell <tquidca@xxxxxxxxx
> On Fri, Feb 13, 2009 at 6:35 AM, Don Sheldon <don.sheldon@xxxxxxxxx
>> On 2/13/09, miyu <xmiyux@xxxxxxxxx
>> > I do have a Homeworlds question. Can a large ship attack and turn
>> > another
>> > large ship? the rules I read online said the attacked ship had to be
>> > smaller than the attacker to be defeated (therefore ties would just be
>> > stalemates). That is how I taught my students this week but I wondered
>> > if
>> > it was correct.
>> >From the rules: "You CANNOT take control of an enemy ship if it's
>> LARGER than the largest ship you own in the system." (Emphasis mine.)
>> Yes, a large ship can capture a large ship.
>> > I realized I had already screwed up one rule. I thought you could
>> > construct
>> > any color ship. I had missed the part about needing a ship of that
>> > color in
>> > the system already.
>> I made this mistake in my first few games too. It changes things a
>> lot. The game becomes far less strategic if you allow this. Glad you
>> caught it.
> I also made that mistake for actually rather a good number of games with my
> friend who learned it with me. He got bored with the correct rules! Besides
> being a faster game, having green able to build anything makes the blue
> pieces kind of pointless.