More interestingly, I notice the careful wording of "no ship larger than the largest ship you own." That means if you have a small red, you can still attack any large ship -- provided you also have *another* ship in the system which is a large. On Fri, Feb 13, 2009 at 11:05 AM, J B Bell <tquidca@xxxxxxxxx> wrote: > > > On Fri, Feb 13, 2009 at 6:35 AM, Don Sheldon <don.sheldon@xxxxxxxxx> wrote: >> >> On 2/13/09, miyu <xmiyux@xxxxxxxxx> wrote: >> > I do have a Homeworlds question. Can a large ship attack and turn >> > another >> > large ship? the rules I read online said the attacked ship had to be >> > smaller than the attacker to be defeated (therefore ties would just be >> > stalemates). That is how I taught my students this week but I wondered >> > if >> > it was correct. >> >> >From the rules: "You CANNOT take control of an enemy ship if it's >> LARGER than the largest ship you own in the system." (Emphasis mine.) >> Yes, a large ship can capture a large ship. >> >> > I realized I had already screwed up one rule. I thought you could >> > construct >> > any color ship. I had missed the part about needing a ship of that >> > color in >> > the system already. >> >> I made this mistake in my first few games too. It changes things a >> lot. The game becomes far less strategic if you allow this. Glad you >> caught it. > > I also made that mistake for actually rather a good number of games with my > friend who learned it with me. He got bored with the correct rules! Besides > being a faster game, having green able to build anything makes the blue > pieces kind of pointless. > > --JB > > > > _______________________________________________ > Icehouse mailing list > Icehouse@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx > http://lists.looneylabs.com/mailman/listinfo/icehouse > > -- It's always a long day. 86400 doesn't fFit into a short.