Looney Labs Icehouse Mailing list Archive

Re: [Icehouse] Binary Homeworlds help needed

  • FromS Myers <iamthecheeze@xxxxxxxxx>
  • DateFri, 13 Feb 2009 11:31:55 -0500
More interestingly, I notice the careful wording of "no ship larger
than the largest ship you own."  That means if you have a small red,
you can still attack any large ship -- provided you also have
*another* ship in the system which is a large.

On Fri, Feb 13, 2009 at 11:05 AM, J B Bell <tquidca@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
> On Fri, Feb 13, 2009 at 6:35 AM, Don Sheldon <don.sheldon@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
>> On 2/13/09, miyu <xmiyux@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
>> > I do have a Homeworlds question.  Can a large ship attack and turn
>> > another
>> > large ship?  the rules I read online said the attacked ship had to be
>> > smaller than the attacker to be defeated (therefore ties would just be
>> > stalemates).  That is how I taught my students this week but I wondered
>> > if
>> > it was correct.
>> >From the rules: "You CANNOT take control of an enemy ship if it's
>> LARGER than the largest ship you own in the system."  (Emphasis mine.)
>>  Yes, a large ship can capture a large ship.
>> > I realized I had already screwed up one rule. I thought you could
>> > construct
>> > any color ship.  I had missed the part about needing a ship of that
>> > color in
>> > the system already.
>> I made this mistake in my first few games too.  It changes things a
>> lot.  The game becomes far less strategic if you allow this.  Glad you
>> caught it.
> I also made that mistake for actually rather a good number of games with my
> friend who learned it with me. He got bored with the correct rules! Besides
> being a faster game, having green able to build anything makes the blue
> pieces kind of pointless.
> --JB
> _______________________________________________
> Icehouse mailing list
> Icehouse@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
> http://lists.looneylabs.com/mailman/listinfo/icehouse

It's always a long day.
86400 doesn't fFit into a short.