On Fri, Feb 13, 2009 at 6:35 AM, Don Sheldon <don.sheldon@xxxxxxxxx>
>From the rules: "You CANNOT take control of an enemy ship if it's
On 2/13/09, miyu <xmiyux@xxxxxxxxx
> I do have a Homeworlds question. Can a large ship attack and turn another
> large ship? the rules I read online said the attacked ship had to be
> smaller than the attacker to be defeated (therefore ties would just be
> stalemates). That is how I taught my students this week but I wondered if
> it was correct.
LARGER than the largest ship you own in the system." (Emphasis mine.)
Yes, a large ship can capture a large ship.
I made this mistake in my first few games too. It changes things a
> I realized I had already screwed up one rule. I thought you could construct
> any color ship. I had missed the part about needing a ship of that color in
> the system already.
lot. The game becomes far less strategic if you allow this. Glad you
I also made that mistake for actually rather a good number of games with my friend who learned it with me. He got bored with the correct rules! Besides being a faster game, having green able to build anything makes the blue pieces kind of pointless.