Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

Re: [Fluxx] Hand Limits Optional

  • From"Bryan Stout" <bryan.stout@xxxxxxxxxxx>
  • DateFri, 08 Aug 2008 12:03:51 -0400
Hi Jody,
It looks like you have an interpretation of the Hand Limit cards that's too limiting (pun intended).  Hand Limits do not mean that players may not *receive* cards over the limit, it just means that if they do, they discard back down.  So, if Hand Limit 2 is in effect, and someone plays Everybody Gets 1, then every player does indeed get one card, and then decides which card out of their hand of 3 cards to discard.  Except for the current player of course: s/he may choose to discard down at any point in their turn. 
----- Original Message -----
Sent: Friday, August 08, 2008 11:32 AM
Subject: Re: [Fluxx] Hand Limits Optional

  I've always had a problem with Andy's YouTube situational explanation, because it "feels" unfair.  So, while I can't argue with the wording of the card that it says "may," there's a serious flaw in the way he chooses to exploit that wording that gives it that "unfair" aftertaste. 

The way I see it, Andy exploits the wording so that instead of ignoring or observing the rule, he does both!  That's what's unfair about it.  I think there is a principle at work here, very common in games, that when you are given a choice, you can't ride the fence, you have to choose and the choice is binding, and the choice must generally be clear to other players so they can be sure you aren't cheating.  Andy ignores the rule, finds out that ignoring the rule doesn't work out for him, and then changes his mind.  I think I disagree with James here because I interpret the "rule" as simply not having any cards in your hand, and the only exception to this rule is if it is your turn you "may" ignore it.  So anyways, Andy draws his cards, takes them into his hand, organizes them, looks at them and decides which two cards he likes.  How is this observing the hand limit rule?  It isn't!  He has cards in his hand, and he even says "I draw three cards, add them to my hand..."!  He has a hand of 5, not 2, so he should be considered officially ignoring the rule.  At that point he has made his choice to ignore the rule clear to other players.  To my sensibilities, he can't change his mind and decide, after ignoring the rule by taking 3 extra cards into his hand, to observe it just because he doesn't like the cards he now holds.  I think the only way to choose to observe the rule when it is your turn in that situation while also observing the draw rule is to simply draw and immediately (as the rule says) discard the 3 cards one by one without taking them into your hand.   But why would you do this?  Barring prescience of what 3 cards are on the top of the draw pile, there would be no reason to do this, so basically what I'm saying is Andy should have lost that game.  :D