Looney Labs Fluxx Mailing list Archive

Re: [Fluxx] Hand Limits Optional

  • From"Zach Taylor" <aurywoof@xxxxxxxxx>
  • DateFri, 8 Aug 2008 12:24:19 -0500
Sorry, I mis(spoke? typed? something).  We go on the wording where you 'may ignore the hand limit'. Just like in Magic: The Gathering, something you 'may' do doesn't mean you have to, doesn't mean you don't have to. It's your option.   That said, though, playing something, discarding, then playing something else is considered bad form around here, and will result in a punishment deemed necessary and appropriate by the majority of players present. (House Rules strike again. :) ) 

On Fri, Aug 8, 2008 at 12:18 PM, James Hazelton <jameshazelton@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
Bryan, the simple and unavoidable truth is that Andy had never even considered observing the Hand Limit on your turn until a fan pointed it out on this list. This was after 3.1 came out.

Zach, you said, "My group plays exactly like it says on the card: If it's your turn, you may discard down to the hand limit." Please point out to me where it says you may discard on your turn. As far as I can see, the ability to discard is plainly restricted to non-turn players. It never specifically says that the turn player can discard anything.

Fluxx mailing list