Oh, I've read the card. Several times.
Notice that the card has two paragraphs:
"If it isn't your turn, you should only have 2 cards in your hand. If you have extra cards, discard them immediately.
"During your turn, you may ignore the Hand Limit, as long as you discard all but 2 of your cards when you end your turn."
As you'll surely notice, the first paragraph is only
for players whose turn it is not, and the second paragraph is only
for those whose turn it is. The turn player is given the option to ignore the rule, but only the second paragraph applies to him, so only that part may he ignore. Since the first paragraph--the part that allows discarding--never applied to him in the first place, there is nothing there for him to ignore (or not ignore).
In other words, choosing not to ignore the rule does not allow the turn player to use actions outlined in the first paragraph, as those actions are specifically reserved for non-turn players.